Readers Choice 2016

The Amnesty International Book Club has announced that voting has opened for the 2016 Readers’ Choice award. Members are invited to cast their vote to recognize one of the 10 excellent titles shortlisted. Voting closes on October 31st and the winner will be featured in December 2016.

Now in its third year with nearly 5000 members, the Amnesty International Book Club continues to spark discussion around Canadian literature and worldwide human rights issues. Renowned guest authors such as Nino Ricci, Joseph Boyden, Madeline Thein, Marina Endicott, and Lawrence Hill continue to join them in exploring our nation’s literary landscape and taking readers beyond everyday book club discussions.

Last year’s selection, The Inconvenient Indian by Thomas King, went on to receive further acclaim as the CBC’s 2015 Bookie Award winner for non-fiction.

Here are the short-listed titles for the organization’s award this year:

• Fifteen Dogs by André Alexis

• The Law of Dreams by Peter Behrens

• The Orenda by Joseph Boyden

• The Day the Falls Stood Still by Cathy Marie Buchanan

• Undermajordomo Minor by Patrick deWitt

• Sweetness in the Belly by Camilla Gibb

• Where the Air is Sweet by Tasneem Jamal

• We’re All in This Together by Amy Jones

• Birdie by Tracey Lindberg

• Medicine Walk by Richard Wagamese

Find more information and vote at

COURTESY: News Canada